danger/u/
This thread is permanently archived
Horror games recommendations?

| So, anyone wants to help a fellow g/u/rl out with some horror games recommendations?

My favourites are SOMA, Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs and Cry of Fear. Observer, Layers of Fear and the first Outlast are rather nice too imo. Alien:Isolation felt great until the second part of the game, but it became really fucking annoying, tedious and frustrating pretty quickly as the plot dragged on.

| Uhhh, both Yomawari games are pretty neat, I guess. Not really in the same vein as the games you've listed though.

| World of horror is a nice one

| >>700541 this

| Some days ago I started playing the Penumbra series. Old but good.

| Not so much horror as it is campy murder mystery, but the parts of Deadly Premonition where you have to avoid the Raincoat Killer got my heart going a bit.

| If you're okay with emulation the Fatal Frame games (1 & 2) are good horror games. Maybe I'm just a huge wimp but I've had both games for years and haven't made much progress through them

| Oh, and while it's not at all like the games you listed I recommend the Spirit Hunter games (Death Mark and NG). Might be a deal breaker but I don't think you can get the true ending of Death Mark or even make it through the game (or maybe you can and I was just too stupid to piece things together when I played it) without a guide. The same isn't true for NG though. Highly recommend playing the games in order if you try them out.

| Rule of rose is an old gem that looks to line up with the games mentioned. Horror game made with the explicit avoidance of cheap scares. Not to say that it's amazing bur it's unique. Emulator btw.

Also DP is a series you laugh at.

| I've always been a really big fan of the Corpse Party games if it suits your tastes I'd say give it a try. Psychological horror is my favorite anyhow and a lot of this gets under my skin if I think about it too much which is good <3