danger/u/
This thread is permanently archived
Dark Souls

| I started playing Dark Souls Remastered on Switch, like, two days ago, and I honestly didn't expect it to be so good. I feel like the difficulty is kind of overhyped, it's challenging for sure but it's mostly just trial, error and discipline.

I love the game, at least for now (I defeated the Gargoyles at the church and just got to the demon thing in the little assassin town), and I want to know you g/u/rls opinions on the game.

| It taught me how to be caring to others around me.

| Loved the aesthetic but the game didn't click with me. I keep getting lost and it's giving me a headache.

Probably just a mental problem I have with 3D games though, since I love Hollow Knight to bits. Bit of a shame.

| >>605989
I absolutely love Hollow Knight as well. I wouldn't compare them that easil though. Game design wise Hollow Knight has borrowed a lot of things from Dark Souls, but that's it. Gameplay wise they are extremely different.

| I like the music in firelink shrine and ashen lake. World design is rather organic, you don't need to use teleportation to get to most of the places. I love this kind of world design.

| >>606017
Yeah! The world design is incredible. Everything is connected so perfectly! I feel like I'm legit about to orgasm when I find new shortcuts and stuff that are just so perfectly and cleverly placed and how no place is really empty. They don't waste space at all and it makes the game so good.

| >>606017
Yeah, world design in DkS1 is a beauty to behold. Shame that 2 and 3 don't feel like that at all.

| To be fair, most people who hype up Dark Souls' difficulty aren't used to its degree of punishment despite how simple combat actually is. It came out during a time when more companies were selling out to casuals.

That doesn't make DS any less special. The atmosphere and world building is what helps set the franchise apart.