danger/u/
This thread is permanently archived
should I move up Korea?

| Long story short, I have a fairly decent paying job at an investment firm. I have my bachelors degree and am doing my masters online. I hate life rn and I'm highly considering just applying to teach English in Korea. Id keep doing my masters online and maybe do PhD after. It'd be a pretty big paycut but I'm just sick of living in the US and I'm tired of my life here. Should I just do it and try to be happy overseas?

| >>676342 Leaving the US is something I always advise because of how ass backwards life can be there, all I'd say is to check that Korea is viable for you.

Obviously make sure you've got yourself set up to be able to live and work once you move, but also read up on social issues there. Check it's gonna be easy for you, especially regarding any racial issues and stigmas.
Check the odd societal things like healthcare and how the legal system works.

| Once you've done researching you may want to move to Korea, or even have found a better place.
Whatever you do, if you choose to move then give yourself a month's leeway before you start preparing, just to make sure your decision isn't purely impulse and that you won't regret it or change your mind too late

| Important thing to remember is that a country always seems better from the outside.

How we perceive places as foreigners is largely different from being on the inside and having all the different fucked up elements of a place in front of you constantly.

Plenty of Koreans want to live in the States because of how it looks in films and TV shows, and because they don't get the constant stream of USA news that people in the country get.

| >>676349