danger/u/
This thread is permanently archived
Is this rude?

| So I work as a cashier. When there are no bills, I drop coins into the customers' hands. Not at a high height, close to their hands. Earlier today a lady said "That's not how you're suppose to give people coins." Is that true? Never crossed my mind that doing that is rude.

| Never encountered such issue when I was doing part time cashier jobs. I either dropped coins into their hands or just put the coins on the counter and let them collect the coins themselves. It probably better to just put coins and bills on the counter.

| I find it better for the cashier to put the coins into my hands, that way I can just slide them down my pockets immediately as opposed to having to carefully pinch the little shits off the counter one by one

| ^Yeah you are right and personally I prefer this method as well (as a customer). But some customers just prefer cashier to put the change on the counter so they can see if there're any money missing. I guess this is why op's customer was not happy about it.

| >>612379 yeah, but it's just a couple of coins anyway. I guess some people are just really conscious about the tiny things.

| Next time if customers opened their palms then put coins in their palms and bills on the counter. Otherwise just put everything on the counter. I think this should do just fine.

| >>612387
This is probably ideal. Where I live all stuff with coins is done with machines that spit out your change into little bowls, but when we didn't have that I didn't mind people giving it to me directly. It made things go faster.

| Another alternative that I used when working register is to pack the coins with the bills. I never got any complaints from that method.

| Use the bill to slide the coins into their hands

Maybe the problem is that you hid the coins from the lady's eyes, so she couldn't see if the amount was correct or stuff like that ?
Doesn't seem rude to me tho.