danger/u/
This thread is permanently archived
hey /lain/

| what are some cyberpunk tropes you're sick of seeing, and what's something you wanna see more of in cyberpunk? i'm a writer (barely lol) with a shitton of free time and some decent ideas for a story, but i wanna know what to avoid so it doesn't end up being cyberpunk story no.39358292

bls help

| Evil Corporation controls everything

| I'd like to (somehow) see some more positive stories in cyberpunk! Like rather than everyone being super gloomy and fucked up, maybe there's a shit ton of happy, cheerful people. Perhaps there's someone who moved to [shitty cyberpunk city here] because it was just what they wanted, and it's almost like the perfect life for them.

| >>527411 i def wanna turn that trope on its head, but in a sort of subtle way? maybe a benevolent ceo whose morals clash with the board of directors, a well-meaning corp trying to be ethical and profitable or just a neutrally-presented corp?

>>527428 that sounds like a fun character! i want the main guys to have some sort of optimism if that makes any sense. if they don't have that, they've simply learned to make do with the (shitty) hand they're dealt; something like va11halla?

| >what are some cyberpunk tropes you're sick of seeing
That there is no hope to break through the dominance of evil-corp or estate and solidarity and politics are no options to solve problems
That society/humanity is somehow not evolving, while tech-development is proceeding.
The idealization/uncritical portrayal of individualism
>and what's something you wanna see more of in cyberpunk?
- space traveling
- aliens
- biotechnology
- revolutionary movements
- hive consciousness

| Maybe you are right.Destroying evil companies may be a little old
I think space traveling+aliens+biotechnology is a good idea.(like [HALO] The covenant fight with Human like that)

| >>527473
On the other hand this way you may end up writing a space opera instead cyberpunk ;-)