danger/u/
This thread is permanently archived
Operating system recs

| Like,I'm not really tech savvy so I have been using windows 7. But now that my PC's motherboard got fried and I'm planing to get a new one what OS do you recommend?

What I am looking for basically is a OS that is okay for gaming and won't sell my info to some big corp.

| >won't sell my info to some big corp
I mean, you're limiting yourself to a narrow field of choice here.

| Well true. I guess its a oxymoron to ask for a OS that is good and isn't affiliated to a big corp. Only asked cause when I was talking about OSs with my friend they basically grilled me for using windows.

Guess I should be okay with some basic info leaking out. After all I am no notorious hacker...

| If your new board and cpu and gpu have drivers for, and can run on, win7, then just continue with win7.
But I hear that the newest cpus refuse to run on not-win10 systems. Can anyone confirm this?

| >>185106
I say false. You can go about as low as Windows 8, or even 7 for some. Considering that 7 is still in support phase by Microsoft, I see absolutely no reason why device manufacturers would stop supporting it.

| >>185106 New gen CPUs don't officially support win7 but asrock have a whole guide on how to make it work. It doesn't seem too hard

| Install any GNU/Linux that is not affiliated with big corp, i.e. not basic Ubuntu or Fedora. Windows 7 still sends your data to M$, especially if you install all the latest updates.

| >>185323 Stop this BS of 'install linux because of blabla'. People do have their own reasons why they install the platforms they do install. OP asked an OS for gaming. As much as I consider myself a very hardcore linux user for some 15 years by now, I dualboot to win7 for my games and to XP before that. Windows pwns gaming scene and this is a fact.

| >>185376
>and won't sell my info to some big corp.

| >>185376
>>185381

| >>184979